Hi folks,

I’ve been wanting to post here for a long time but procrastination took over. Sorry about that.

Over the last two weeks, I’ve been to 4 wedding receptions. Three of them colleagues and one, an acquaintance-turned-friend.

Those of you that know me well would’ve guessed what I would’ve worn to the receptions. For those of you that don’t know me well, I almost always wear only a jeans-and-tee.

But the vast majority of the crowd one would chance upon at such wedding receptions happens to dress up elaborately. By that, I mean grand clothes, posh accessories, heavy make-up etc. I don’t just mean the women. I mean people across genders, age groups etc.

I’m a lazy guy, generally. So, I never dress up elaborately. The most elaborate clothing I remember wearing happens to be a FabIndia kurta.

But let’s also look at it another way. It’s just the way I am. Why do I have to dress up so much? Must I be the cynosure of all eyes? Must I assert my social status? What gratification does one obtain by doing so?

I simply can’t understand. Can someone please try and explain?

Yours Confusedly,
uleadin

