Hey folks,

Here's a quick post about something that has been on my mind for fairly long but hasn't translated into writing. 

My dad just got back from a personal trip to Hyderabad. He tells me the prices of tender-coconut-water (Elaneer) ranges from 6 bucks to 8 bucks there in most cases. 

I remember with unquestionable certainty that I paid 16 bucks for one tender-coconut (some 5-7 days back) in road-side shop in Nungambakkam, Chennai. 

Now, calculating margins would indicate that the seller in Hyderabad would have a margin of somewhere near 3 bucks per piece. This would, in turn, mean that the farmer would get only around 1-1.5 bucks per piece! That, in itself, is a little sad to hear.

What's worse is that the farmer would get roughly the same amount in the end, even if the coconut is sold for 16 bucks in Chennai! 

I'm simply unable to accept the fact that middle men enjoy such exorbitant benefits while the producer and buyer are penalized! 
Is it that the middle men elongate the supply chain thereby adding margins at every level and end up taking the overall price up? Or, is it that they price the commodity according to city, transportation costs, affordability et al?

I'd love to talk about this if someone's game! 

Cheers,
uleadin